Wow I took Zachary for a second opinion on the Cleft Craniofacial Clinic. The Choc one I didn't care much for the ENT and Dentist.... So when I got to Loma Linda Clinic I was very impressed, Dr. Elmendorf was wonderful!!!! He asked if I wanted to see any other people today since I was there. I stated yes, I waited there for 5 hours and got to see the speech therapist and also the Genetics doctor. I was now to wait for my report and go from there. I had finally received my report and needed to set up my doctor appointments.. I had spoken to Jennifer several times and she had relayed to me that I would need to cancel my doctors with the other clinic to join their clinic. Then I had spoken to Kathy the nurse for the clinic who was suppose to set up my appts. I had spoken to her and she stated that Dr. Elmendorf was getting ready to go on vacation and she would need to check with him and get back to me. So I waited and waited and then I called back and then I waited and waited. I never rec'd a call so I called Jennifer and left her a message to call me or have Dr. Elmendorf call me back due to I needed to make an appointment and couldn't get Kathy to call me back. Amazingly nobody called.. So I started calling around and left message with Kathy for Dr. Elmendorf. I was upset because all this time she hadn't called me. When I stated I had been waititng for her call to set up the appointments she stated she had been calling me and calling and has documentation that every time she has called me it is busy. I verified # and it was correct. There is no way that one person can call me for two months and always get a busy signal on a cell phone when every other doctor and person who calls me never has a problem. I explained to her I have a cell phone it is never busy. She stated well what do you want now. This set me off obviously and I left message for Dr. Elmendorf who amazingly didn't return my call. I called back a couple days later and spke to Kathy again and wanted to leave a message again for Dr. Elmendorf to contact me. She straight out told me she would take the message but he wouldn't get back to me. I left the message anyway. I emailed Jean Fankhandel to forward my email to Dr. Elmendorf thinking he wasn't getting my messages.
Then Lynn Karmen called me back. She took my complaint and then took the information for Accent Care so she could get my sons speech therapy going in the mean time and she was suppose to contact me back. In the next several weeks I left 4 messages for Lynn with no return call.
Suddenly, I get a call from Jean Fankhangel stating that Dr. Elmendorf had sent me a letter stating since the our relationship was compromised Zachary would not be a good fit for their clinic. I didn't receive the letter so Jean certified it to me.
Two weeks passed and no word from Jean I called her Friday night the 27th and it stated she would be out until the 30th. Amazingly, no word from Jean, so I called her again on December 1st figuring she was probably busy with holiday and all. She answered and stated that Dr. Elmendorf stated there was nothing he could do.
NOW IS IT NORMAL PRACTICE TO MAKE A CHILD SUFFER BECAUSE THE STAFF DOESN'T DO THEIR JOB. IF THE PARENT COMPLAINS THEN THE CHILD HAS TO SUFFER. DOES IT TAKE 4 MONTHS TO GET A PERSON TO CALL YOU TO MAKE AN APPT???? AREN'T NURSES AND DOCTORS THERE TO HELP CHILDREN WHO HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS???
WHEN THE HEAD OF THE NURSING STAFF STATES SHE WILL TAKE CARE OF YOUR SITUATION AND GET YOUR SON SET UP ON SPEECH THERAPY. IS IT NORMAL PRACTICE TO NOT DO IT AND NEVER CALL THE MOTHER BACK????
IS IT NORMAL PRACTICE FOR A NURSE TO STATE THAT SHE HAS CALLED A CUSTOMER FOR 2 MONTHS AND IT WAS ALWAYS BUSY AND THROW IN RIGHT AWAY AND I HAVE DOCUMENTATION, WHEN IT IS A CELL PHONE AND WOULD ROLL RIGHT TO VOICEMAIL???
IS IT NORMAL PRACTICE TO DENY A CHILD MEDICAL SERVICES BECAUSE YOUR STAFF DOESN'T DO THEIR JOB.
IS IT NORMAL FOR A DOCTOR TO NOT EVEN RETURN ONE PHONE CALL TO A PARENT BUT THEN TURN AROUND AND GET RID OF HER CHILD WHEN HE OBVIOUSLY NEEDS MEDICAL ATTENTION???
THE ONLY ONE WHO LOSSES IS THE CHILD!!!! NURSES AND DOCTORS TOOK AN OATH TO HELP PEOPLE NOT HURT THEM!!!!!
Tuesday, December 1, 2009
Eye Doctor
We went to the eye doctor for Zachary for the first time in November 09. Zachary was such a big boy and I guess because he is so use to the doctors that he didn't cry. We were deciding whether to just put the eye drops in the eyes to dilate them or to put the anesthesia in first and then the eye drops. Usually with kids once they get the first one in they can never get the second one in. Well the doctor had great success!! He put the anesthesia in and the eye drop to dilate the eyes. Zachary did not cry at all but did ask for his candy. I had promised him 2 candies if he did good.. We found Zachary has a stigma and would probably need glasses later in life or could possibly fix itself.. Who knows... We will see...
Sorry it's been so long
Since I last posted Zachary's Main Doctor has said that since the test he ran shows everything okay with Zachary there is no need to take action on his hernia. It is so small so probably doesn't bother him. If it should start to bother him then he would do surgery..
Zachary was sick mid November. He came down with a cold that lasted about 1 1/2 weeks. We got antiobiotics that seemed to take a while to kick in. But either finally did or the virus ran its course.
Zachary also has had his flu shot and the first series of the H1N1 we go back December 18th to get the second one. He didn't get sick and didn't cry. He is a tough little boy. But he did want his candy after of course. He can't get the nose spray because it is a live virus and if he were to get it it could possibly kill him. The live virus is actually putting a bit of the swine flu in you. Zachary has to get the shot because that basically is dead virus...
Zachary was sick mid November. He came down with a cold that lasted about 1 1/2 weeks. We got antiobiotics that seemed to take a while to kick in. But either finally did or the virus ran its course.
Zachary also has had his flu shot and the first series of the H1N1 we go back December 18th to get the second one. He didn't get sick and didn't cry. He is a tough little boy. But he did want his candy after of course. He can't get the nose spray because it is a live virus and if he were to get it it could possibly kill him. The live virus is actually putting a bit of the swine flu in you. Zachary has to get the shot because that basically is dead virus...
Sunday, October 4, 2009
Ultrasound
Wednesday we went and had an ultrasound for Zachary. Zachary fasted for 12 hours the night before and pee'd at 7:15am. We went to the ultrasound at 8:15am and started the ultrasound. We got most of it done when she started to do it on his bladder. She said he has a full bladder and I would need to have him go potty. So I took him in the bathroom and tried everything.. Put cold water on his hand... flushed the toilet...... took his pacifire away from his so he would cry and no pee pee. Then we went outside and I gave him my cell phone and keys to play with and took them away thinking that he would cry and make him pee... Well NO.... Finally around 11:45 the Tech came and said to go and come back at 2:40pm... So we left and I gave Zach a bottle and he pee'd at 12:40 and I put down for a nap... We got up at 2:10 got ready and went back to the doctor. The tech stated his bladder still was not empty. I found this very strange and apparently she did too. But she couldn't say what she thought was wrong. So we just wait for the test results. Hopefully he psyched himself out because of the visit and that is all it is.. Well will see sometime next week
Sick??

Lil Zachary was sick... I have been giving him this nose spray (trial for 2 weeks) that is suppose to strengthen his muscles in his throat and I think with that it kicked the colds butt right out of him.. YEAH!! It was really quick.. One night he was up and down crying and crying and then the next night he was fine. Very strange, but I am thankful we didn't have to go to hospital...
Monday, September 21, 2009
Sick or not??
Zachary seems to be coming down with a cold. Lots of sneezing and boogers... We will have to see how he is tonight.. Hopefully he will kick it and not get fully sick....
Hernia??

I have noticed several times this little bump that appears on Zachary's tummy. I always just let it go not thinking it was anything. Recently, Zachary has been grabbing his tummy and his back near his kidney's. While we were at the cardiologist the other day I was calling the doc to make an appt because of Zach grabbing his tummy and back. I showed my mom the bump and she said it looked like a hernia. So I made an appointment for after the cardiologist and went right away. The doctor said it does look like a hernia. We needed to do an ultrasound to verify for sure if it is or not. We set up the appt for Sept 30th. It could possibly need surgical repair and could not. We don't and won't know until after the ultrasound. Stay tuned..
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

